Simon Poole, Cylite co-founder, elected as Fellow of Australian Academy of Science

Simon Poole, Cylite co-founder, elected as Fellow of Australian Academy of Science

Recognised for achievements in Photonics and his role in the development of an export-competitive photonics industry in Australia

Cylite is delighted to announce Dr Simon Poole AO, one of Cylite’s co-founders and VP Business Development, has been elected as a Fellow of the Australian Academy of Science  Dr Poole is one of 24 new Fellows elected each year to the Academy. The citation for his election reads as follows:

Simon Poole is an outstanding researcher and entrepreneur in photonics. He was a member of the team which developed the Erbium-Doped Fibre Amplifier (EDFA), now a ubiquitous part of the optical fibre networks that underpin the global internet. He has also led the establishment of an export-competitive photonics industry in Australia.

I am a delighted to be recognised by the Academy in this way, and more than a little humbled to be part of such a distinguished group of Fellows.” said Dr Poole. “For science to maintain its place in society it must remain connected to the needs of society and I hope to be able to assist the Academy in ensuring that this happens.”

“This is a fantastic recognition of Simon’s huge contributions to Photonics within Australia over many ventures, both in academia and industry” stated Dr. Steve Frisken, Chief Executive Officer of Cylite. “Simon has proven to be one of the driving forces in establishing the hugely vibrant photonics industry in this country, in a career that spans some of the most successful commercial endeavours and which has impacted the careers of many students, researchers and colleagues. His combination of technical and scientific insight and business acumen will prove an asset to Australia’s Science Academy as it continues to provide a voice to promote scientific endeavours and create opportunities for Australia.”

About the Australian Academy of Science

Fellows of the Australian Academy of Science are among the nation’s most distinguished scientists, elected by their peers for ground-breaking research and contributions that have had clear impact.

The Australian Academy of Science was founded on 16 February 1954 by Australian Fellows of the Royal Society of London, with the distinguished physicist Sir Mark Oliphant as founding President. The first woman elected to the Academy was Dorothy Hill in 1956.

Details of all the Academy’s Fellows can be found here:
Information about criteria for ordinary and special election to the Academy can be found here:

Ready to redefine your perspective?

To find out how HP-OCT™ can benefit you, your practice, and your patients, register your interest today.

Register your interest


This website is intended for use by healthcare professionals only. By clicking agree, you are declaring that you are a registered healthcare professional with an appropriate registration.

If you do not agree, you’ll not be able to view the content on this page.